Tribal sovereignty has long been an important issue for the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, a degree of which has been reached through legislation by the Federal Government. The governmental structure of the Tribe consists of a six (6) member Council

plus one (1) elected as Tribal Chief. CLARISSA SABATTIS

The leaders are chosen by the membership through an election process. The Tribal Chief serves a four (4) year term, while the Tribal Council members serve four (4) year, staggered terms.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT: HBMI's Tribal Council is in the process of establishing a 501(c)(3) organization called the Maliseet Community Development Authority. This non-profit organization helps to enhance the well-being of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians and its neighboring communities through initiatives in the following areas: Economic, Education, Culture, Social, Health & Wellness and Natural Resources. HBMI also employs a Tribal Planner and Economic Developer to attain the economic goals set by the Tribal Council.